The Power of Speech

The main reason for my confrontations with my fellow human beings has always been in my appreciation for the power of words. I have always felt respect towards the meanings, the correct usage and the unconditional nature of words (once you say them they are out there and you can’t stop them, you can’t take them back).
Words can start wars, end them, make someone love you and break their heart. Words can cause genocide, words can end it. Nothing is impossible if the words are right.

There is not a consensus on the matter, but it is widely accepted as a religious fact that Universe itself has been created through speech… How’s that for power?

I have been making research on basics of Judaism on and off for few years, and until now I had never knew how alike mine Judaism’s views and my views are regarding words and their strength. (JewFaq: Speech and Lashon Ha-ra) (I use the term Judaism’s view even though the whole aspect is not as simple.)
This is not first time when I realise how close my personal views are with basics of Judaism, those personal views of mine which have evolved during my life, before I knew anything about Judaism.
These little things convince me that I have only one option and that is to step on the rocky road and keep on walking, to reach what feels right, but also scares the heck out of me. That is one of the reasons why I keep this blog. I believe in power of words and I know that I need to arrange the words out of my head and in front of me to see them, to understand them… Because I need the strength words have.

It’s late (or rather it’s early) so I leave you with an old Hasidic story.

A man went about the community telling malicious lies about the rabbi. Later, he realized the wrong he had done, and began to feel remorse.
He went to the rabbi and begged his forgiveness, saying he would do anything he could to make amends. The rabbi told the man,
“Take a feather pillow, cut it open, and scatter the feathers to the winds.”
The man thought this was a strange request, but it was a simple enough task, and he did it gladly. When he returned to tell the rabbi that he had done it, the rabbi said,
“Now, go and gather the feathers. Because you can no more make amends for the damage your words have done than you can recollect the feathers.”
(Source: JewFaq)

Leave a comment